Life’s Journey

Life's_Journey
For some, 2012 was a great year, while for others it was a year full of pain and heartache. While most years we live, we can barely remember, others stand out as either being amazing or horrific. This is the sad reality we face because we live in a fallen and broken world, so we must make the best use of the time we have because we don’t even know what will happen tomorrow. The things of this world are temporary, here one second and gone the next. The life we live is part of an amazing story, so we must never let go of our faith, hope and dreams. Looking back over our lives, we will regret the things we didn’t do more than the things we did do. Life is a journey and it is also an endurance race, one in which we are called to finish well.
My journey has taken me many places and allowed me to do some amazing things, but this last year has left me with some very deep scars that will take time to heal. It is impossible to weigh the good times against the bad times to determine how to rate the year, but that is what I find myself doing. Two of my greatest dreams were realized by becoming a father and pastor in the same year, but even these blessings were bittersweet. Reading I Samuel 9 when Saul set out looking for lost donkeys he came across Samuel a prophet of God who just one day earlier heard from God that Saul would be the leader of Israel. I began to examine my journey wondering when in my quest I would come across my Samuel and have my breakthrough so I could reach my full potential.
Before being hit by a speeding truck while riding my road bike, I was an endurance athlete both running and cycling, so I know firsthand that the last part of any race is the toughest- both physically and mentally. Unable to compete anymore, I still view life this way, so I know I have to be getting close to the finish line because every step I take is harder than the previous one. They call this “hitting the wall” and it is literally like you can’t go any further because there is a wall in front of you and only your training and mental toughness will carry you around/over it and across the finish line. The last marathon I ran I can remember reading the back of someone’s shirt that read, “If found lying on the ground, please drag across finish line.” I found that very amusing and as I passed this person, they read the back of my shirt which read, “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” I can remember them yelling, “thank you; I needed that encouragement.” Our daily life is a race and some of us are lost and need help to get back on course while others need help finding the path to salvation. To make a difference, we ourselves must be different!
Regardless if 2012 was your worst year, “Forget the former things; do not dwell on the past.” Isaiah 43:18. Letting go of the past can be one of the hardest things to do. We cling to our past mistakes and let them define who we are, but in Christ we are a new creation. God chooses not to remember our past mistakes, so why should we? He will give beauty for ashes, joy instead of mourning; praise instead of heaviness. A New Year is upon us and I pray it is one full of blessings!

7 thoughts on “Life’s Journey

  1. Joyce Pool says:

    Jeff,
    Excellent.
    Please know that I will be praying for you tomorrow morning.

  2. Diane says:

    Thanks i needed that also, 2012 was a very difficult year for me also and i also am so glad that its a new year and that because of Jesus i can forget the past and move on in the power of my Lord. 2013 is going to be a wonderful year. Amen and thank you for sharing. May the Lord prosper you anmd bless you mightily and powerfully and heal all your diseases and injuries.

  3. Diane says:

    Thanks i needed that also, 2012 was a very difficult year for me also and i also am so glad that its a new year and that because of Jesus i can forget the past and move on in the power of my Lord. 2013 is going to be a wonderful year. Amen and thank you for sharing. May the Lord prosper you and bless you mightily and powerfully and heal all your diseases and injuries.

  4. Lucien Presnell says:

    I have to say 2012 was a great rebuilding year for me. 2010-2011 were horrible years for me. To an extent that my life almost came to an end. I roughed it out and sought out strength from every where but god and things kept getting harder… the middle of 2011 at was at complete rock bottom. I had no way to turn, no one to go to anymore, everything crumbled all around me… God put this elderly lady who was very very very stubborn and head strong into my life and at about this time she just started pushing me day after day. Finally i got tired of this and so i started pushing myself a little bit, this was gods gift to me to put me back on track. this stubborn old lady who will always have a piece in my heart. once i got going, i knew what i had to do. God I need your guidance I had prayed… from that day forward things went full speed ahead. Today I am happily married for bout 6 months now, have twins due any day, a good job and a roof over my head with no wants… I guess this is my testimony and my thanks to god.. Keep your head up and keep the faith. I have no doubt that all of our trials and tribulations are there to only make us stronger, don’t have to believe it but try and break me now…
    thanks for the post because it just made me really think of this which should be my own little personal blog.. sorry for rambling.

    • Jeff Davis says:

      Bro that is awesome. It is crazy the things God can use to get us back on track. I too had to hit rock bottom only to discover that God was that rock and then he set my feet upon solid ground and hearing your testimony is so encouraging to me. God Bless! JD

      • Lucien says:

        I tell ya, after writing that yesterday… it really made me think. How bad off i really was, geesh and thats hard to think of. Most people who knew me thought i was going to be another war veteran statistic (suicide). Even though to this day I say I wasn’t suicidal, most said I was really bad off and I am not sure if i realize how bad I was. I came back from war and found myself completely lost. Had a wife that decided she couldnt handle the stress of me being gone so she had moved on while I was deployed. I ended up homeless, struggled to keep my job. Got spanked financially and pretty much lost everything. Never publically or privately really spoken of above before. Wow is all I can say because I recovered from it all and now have a very stable life in everyway. I always look back on my past so I know how far in life I have come and to make sure I dont follow in the same steps and get back to that point. God bless you too

  5. Theresa Pate says:

    Full of godly wisdom and insight! Your best, yet! Thanks, Jeff. Theresa

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.